My Second East Coast Experience

It’s been a long time since I last updated my blog.  It seems a lot happened that made me busy.  Actually, there’s a lot of surreal experiences to start the 2011. 

I’m really fortunate for all the blessings given to me.  For the second time in my life, I was given a chance to go to the USA for another seminar but now with the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) in Virginia.

As you can see, I was able to experience snow for the first time in my life.  I got one picture where I really went into the snow storm just to experience snow.

Unlike the first time, I did no t walk around the Washington DC area because of time constraint.  So this time I made sure I’ll do.

 

Along with my wife, we walked around the Smithsonian place.  Behind us is the Washington Memorial.  Around that area are different museums including the Museum of American History where the movie Night of the Museum was shot.  We also went inside the Air and Space Museum which is pretty cool.

The history of air flight can be seen there.  From the simple plane made by the Wright Brothers to the rockets that fly around the moon.  You can also hear there the audio recording of Neil Armstrong  as his team landed the moon.

But the most unforgetable experience I have in Washington is watching the Washington Wizards play at the Verizon center alone.  My wife and co-workers are still in the Philippines during that time and I got nothing to do one evening.  So I decided to go to the Verizon Center and watched the game.  

Being a basketball enthusiast that I am, It is my dream to watch a live NBA game regardless of what teams are playing.  I am not a big fan of the Wizard and the Nuggets but seeing players like John Wall and Carmelo Anthony play in the flesh is really something that made me excited.

After my two-week seminar, went to New Jersey and New York.  Though it is my second time in New York,  I still got chills (literally and figuretively) going to the place especiall with the song of Alicia Keys titled Empire State of Mind playing on the Iphone.  

  

We walked around the famous Time Square.  My eyes still opened up excitedly as I saw the bright lights.  There are not much people like the first time I was there on a summer.  Nevertheless, despite the cold weather, tourists still have a fun time seeing the place.

Because of the cold weather, I was not able to bring my wife to Liberty Island so we just walk around the park where the statue of Liberty can be viewed from the side of New Jersey.  By the way, New York and New Jersey is just connected by a tunnel called Hudson. 

The whole park is covered with snow. You can play snow balls.  We caught tourist taking pictures of their jump.  After they left, we also did our own.

Later in the afternoon, we walked around the famous Wall Street and had a picture in front of the New York stock exchange where you could see the giant tarpolin for the Super Bowl.

Near that building is the Building where the first president of the USA sworn to office.

There is one thing that I was not able to do in New York the first time I was there.  I was not able to take picture with the Bull, which I first saw in my favorite movie Hitch.

I really put the Bull in our itinerary.  In the movie Hitch, this is where Eva Mendes kicked the balls of Jeffrey Donovan of Burn Notice.  

Overall, the east coast is really a nice place.  If not for the snow and cold weather we could have done a lot.  Nevertheless, It was really fun touring around the states especially with my wife.  I also appreciate the people who played as our tour guides in Washington, New Jersey and New York.  There is also one who adopted us for one night in New Jersey.  They all treated us in different restos and brought us in different discount stores where we had our shopping sprees.  We really admire the efforts they made even to the point that they have to take leaves from work which is not easy to do on a short notice.  Again thank you very much to all of you!

~ by Road to Relevance on March 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
